Earlier this month I shared my story healing endometrial cysts by following a strict sugar-free, dairy-free, mostly grain-free diet based on the Wahls Protocol. 

When people hear sugar-free, dairy-free and grain-free, they get scared, they think you are left with almost nothing. To show you that it’s not true, I shared some details about what I eat and do in a day. Today, I will add a bit more for further inspiration.

Breakfast

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and the one thing you need to rethink if you are embarking on a healing journey. Forget cereals and yogurt. Dairy triggers autoimmune responses in the body, corn-flakes has glycemic index of almost one hundred and granola is packed with added sugar. You need a proper meal to start your day and it doesn’t need to take ages to cook.

This is one of my favourites: organic chicken liver with braised red cabbage (made with ghee butter and onion) and steamed spinach. 

It takes me twenty minutes to prepare this breakfast. In exchange for these twenty minutes I get much better energy levels and comfort throughout the day.

Organic chicken liver is one of my favourite sources of protein. I used to be vegetarian but it didn’t work for me. Currently I eat fish and poultry and mostly avoid eating mammals (they are a bit too close to my heart). Organic chicken liver is a great source of many nutrients, especially iron, which is extremely important for women.

As we loose blood every month, our body’s iron stores gradually drop and eventually, we become deficient. Symptoms of low iron stores range from chronic fatigue to persistent hair loss. Instead of taking supplements, you may just want to make sure you get enough in your food – food at the end is what your body was made to take its building blocks from. Unfortunatelly for vegetarians, plant based iron tends to absorb much worse than animal based.

So let’s say you are one of those people who need to eat some meat to maintain good health. Organic chicken liver (I get mine from Waitrose), is still pretty cheap. Most people only eat chicken breast or thighs and the liver is left behind despite its nutritional superiority.

Whatever meat you decide to eat, I strongly suggest to buy organic. Animals in organic agriculture are treated and fed better. And as we are what we eat, the animals are also what they eat and if they are fed junk, their meat ends up being less nutritious.

A study by Newcastle University published earlier this year found that organically raised meat has twice as much omega 3 fatty acids compared to factory raised meat. 

Now, Omega 3 fatty acids that’s the good stuff that you want to consume, so as long as you are eating meat for the health benefits and not to stuff yourself, you’d really better buy organic. You can eat less and get more of the good building blocks, which means fewer animals killed.

Red cabbage is part of my daily dose of sulphur rich vegetables, based on the Wahls protocol prescription and spinach is part of my dark leafy greens.

Lunch

Vegetables really make the foundation of my diet. For my lunch, I have some more green leaves, this is romaine lettuce with one avocado (healthy fats) and carrot (coloured stuff, the third element of the Wahls protocol). It’s topped with sun flower seeds, flax seeds and pumpkin seeds and suffused with organic olive oil and apple cider vinegar.

My midday portion of protein is canned mackerel in olive oil. A pretty cheap but nourishing solution. You really want to eat some proper protein with every meal. The official Dietary Reference Intake is 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight. That means an average sedentary woman needs less than 50 grams of protein a day. However, there are quite many studies, which actually say you need much more (and my experience confirms that). One of my gurus, Harvard gynaecologist Sarah Gottfried in her book The Hormone Cure recommends a physically active woman who weighs 57 kilos to consume 100 grams of protein per day. That’s four such cans of mackerel…. Sources of protein involve fish and meat, lentils and beans (which are not for everyone), grains (not recommended), soy (only fermented in the form of tempeh or nato is safe for your thyroid), seeds and nuts, and eggs (easy with those).

Dinner

I always aim to have only a light dinner. It’s good for my irritable bowel syndrome plus research suggests that your body produces the most growth hormone (the substance that keeps you young) when you don’t eat before bed time. These are two organic free range eggs ( a big difference not only for the hens that produced them but also for me as they are much more nutritious than conventionally farmed eggs) with steamed cavolo nero with a pinch of salt, some seasoning, olive oil and apple cider vinegar. Simple and quick.

My eating eggs is a little deviation from the Wahls Protocol. Terry Wahls doesn’t recommend eggs as they may trigger autoimmune responses. I myself tested slightly sensitive to egg white at the time when I was eating eggs every day. These days, I only eat organic eggs once a week and I feel fine.

A spoil myself with a desert of raspberries with cinnamon. I am trying to be as sugar-free as possible so this is a real treat. I am generally trying not to overdo it with fruit. Fruit is nature’s candy and although it contains natural sugar, it’s still sugar and you want to take it easy with that.

